Home » Sewing » A University of Florida baby blanket & Tilly’s new pattern

A University of Florida baby blanket & Tilly’s new pattern

IMG_0739

My latest baby blanket draped over my office chair. Try to ignore the stacks of paper on the floor!

After the Mathilde blouse, I pulled together another football baby blanket. I made this one for a good friend’s pregnant sister-in-law. The pattern and directions are from Jessica’s blog, Happy Together. The only changes I made were widening the white lace bits to a full inch. I felt they were a little too narrow on the first football blanket I created.

I have decided on a policy of strictly selfish sewing, but my friend asked very nicely and offered to cover my costs. When she told me the expectant parents are fellow Gators, I caved…

IMG_0740

I’m fairly certain it is my solemn duty as a University of Florida graduate to make sure future Gators are immediately surrounded by orange and blue. Duty fulfilled.

In other news…

Tilly has read my mind. I was staring into my closet this weekend after finishing my Mathilde blouse and pondering my next sewing project. I decided a simple and versatile skirt should be next. Maybe something in khaki or denim I can wear all summer and well into fall.

Have you seen Tilly’s new pattern? She read my mind! Her Miette pattern is exactly what I need. I’m not a big fan of pockets (I just don’t need extra fabric in that area…) but, I adore the pocketless version. Although, I haven’t purchased the pattern yet, my car inexplicably pulled into the fabric store parking lot on as I ran some errands this evening. I left the store with this:

IMG_0763

The color is really off in this photo. It’s a dark blue denim. It’s not quite as light as chambray, but it’s close. I didn’t want anything too stiff and I think this will drape nicely. Mysteriously, the exact amount required to make Miette landed in my shopping bag… Hmmm… it appears construction on my Miette will commence soon!

Leave a Reply

