Home » Sewing » I made a dress!

I made a dress!

I love green and navy prints. Here’s one from Banana Republic’s current Mad Men collection I think is fabulous:

Banana Republic's Mad Men dress

Banana Republic’s Mad Men dress

When shopping I tend to seek  out navy and green prints, so as I was picking fabric to make my own dress, a green and navy print was the obvious choice. I picked up  this geometric cotton sateen at Joann’s a few weeks ago. It’s part of their Hampton Collection and has been on sale, 30% off, for a while now. I think it cost me about $10 a yard.

IMG_0438

I used New Look 0126 and made a muslin.

IMG_0636

…And then made and remade the muslin. Several versions later, I decided I needed one size up top and  a different one on the bottom.I ended up cutting a 10 on top and a 12 on the bottom. I was a bit freaked out by having to merge two different sizes but it wasn’t a big deal as I just blended them at the waist.

Here’s the final result without a belt:

IMG_0665I think I’m a bit too curvy for a sheath without waist darts. It’s comfortable but looks a little sloppy.  I like it much better with a belt:

IMG_0666Since it’s chilly here today, I styled it with a sweater for my school visits.

IMG_0669The hardest part of putting this all together was the back zipper. It came out okay, but there are a few minor imperfections. I’m probably the only one who will ever notice, but…

Also, the back neckline gapes a wee bit. It’s fine with the sweater over it and I’m hoping it’s due to the interfacing needing to soften up a bit in the wash. I bought what the pattern recommended, but it seems overly stiff.

Hands down, my favorite part of the dress is the invisible hem. I did a slip stitch by hand and it really is invisible!

See? No threads!

See? No threads!

Overall, I’m pleased with how my first dress turned out. I wore it to dinner with friends this evening and they asked where I bought my dress. Their reactions were pretty humorous when I told them I’d made it!

This weekend, I was at Joann’s (if I’m not careful, they are going to start charging me rent) and I took advantage of their 5 for $5 Butterick patterns promotion.

IMG_0671

Hmmm… which should I make next?

14 thoughts on “I made a dress!

  1. Oh, I love your dress, you did a great job! I think it looks terrific on you without the belt as well, but definitely love it with the belt. I saw your blog over on Cherry Pix’s blog and had to come over to say ‘hi’! 🙂

  2. Hi! I just found your blog and am loving the things you’ve made but had to comment on this dress. I think I may need to make one exactly like it! Adorable. I keep getting drawn to that fabric in the store and now want to pick up some. I’m a beginner and haven’t yet made a dress with a zipper – I must try!

  3. Pingback: Monogram tote | Bolts, Bobbins, and Blunders

Leave a Reply

