Home » Challenge » Late to the party…

Late to the party…

My Jungle January sewing project is finished… in February. Oops.

IMG_0582I apologize for the truly terrible pictures. Snapping photos is tough when you live alone and your cat doesn’t have thumbs (I’m quite convinced she would help me out if she could).

This top was the second clothing item I created with the materials and instructions provided by the Sewing with Knits class I purchased on Craftsy.com a while ago. It proved more complicated than the fleece hoodie I first made for the course. As I mentioned in my last post, the neckline of this top gave me fits and the hemming was a disaster.

IMG_0585

The finished neckline isn’t half bad…

I discovered that my machine isn’t compatible with a universal twin needle and my stretch stitch options are terrible. My machine has several “stretch stitches,” but they looked awful when I used them on this fabric. Despite fiddling with the tension, the stitches kept pulling the fabric and causing it to bunch up. It looked generally horrid. My machine won’t let me adjust stitch length which may be part of the problem. Since I couldn’t get any of the “stretch stitches” to work, I stuck with a zigzag stitch. It works, but isn’t as professional a finish as I would like. The finished arm band is below. The hem around the body of the shirt looks the same.

My arm- very close up!

My arm- very close up!

In order to tame the fabric so I could hem it, I used ultra-light Stitch Witchery fusible bonding web. The knit tape I ordered online hasn’t yet arrived, so when I found Stitch Witchery at the fabric store, I decided to give it a go. To my amazement, it worked and enabled me to sew up an even hem. 

I wore this shirt today to conduct some focus group interviews for a research project and felt pretty darn good in it. The fabric is very soft (I think the best way to describe it is an ultra-light sweater weight) and I love the leopard spots. When I mentioned to a friend at lunch I had made my top, she was appropriately impressed.

I have enough of this fabric left over to create another shirt. I’m going to try the next knit piece in the course, a v-neck t-shirt in the same fabric. I think I’ll make it up with short sleeves for a look that is a bit more casual.

In knitting news:

I am nearly done with the scarf I have been making up for my brother. My next knitting project will involve increasing and decreasing stitches. I think it’s time I learned how to do more than just knit and purl. Plum colored yarn will be involved…

7 thoughts on “Late to the party…

  1. That is a really cute top. You’ve done a great job with it, and it looks lovely on you.

    It isn’t unusual that the stitch length can’t be changed on the stretch stitches. It is because of the motion the machine has to go through to make those “back and forward” stitches that changing the length would stuff it up. There will be a red position on your length dial that you have to use with the stretch stitches. Practice them on scraps, using stabilisers, and you might get them working to your satisfaction. If not, take the machine back to the retailer and ask them to help you get the stretch stitches working. You paid for 12 stitches, you should be able to use all 12 of them!

    • I didn’t realize that you can’t change stretch stitch length! I do have a red stretch stitch setting, but I’m not happy with the results. When I purchased my machine they offered free lessons, so I think your idea is a good one. I’ll arrange to bring it in to the store and see if I’m doing something wrong. I totally agree- I want my money’s worth!

  2. Pingback: Finished projects: A cozy knit jacket, an icky v-neck, and a chunky scarf | Bolts, Bobbins, and Blunders

Leave a Reply

