Home » Sewing » Snow on Boxing Day and a dearth of fabric stores in the capital

Snow on Boxing Day and a dearth of fabric stores in the capital

Squee! Snow!

20121228-201447.jpg

“Ohhh, it’s so pretty!” I gushed to my boyfriend as the wet flakes floated down. This Florida girl turns into a five-year-old whenever she sees snow. My boyfriend took the above photo in Soho on Boxing Day in between my oh-ing and ah-ing.

I’ve been traveling throughout the frozen north this holiday. My BF recently moved to DC, so I headed to his place and we traveled to NYC from there to spend a few days visiting his family. We had a lovely time. The 24th was my birthday, so he took me out for an amazing 5 course champaign lunch at Bouley. It was heaven! I really wanted to take pictures of the food, but my BF thinks it’s tacky, so I withheld. I did take a pic of the ladies restroom. It was so beautiful, I couldn’t help myself!

20121228-202553.jpg

After lunch, we grabbed a cab to 30 Rock and saw the famous Christmas tree. The plaza was packed, but everyone was in such a nice mood, it didn’t feel oppressive. The tree is pretty spectacular. The photo below really doesn’t do it justice.

20121228-202903.jpg

Sewing Update

Since I’ve been away from my sewing machine, no new sewing projects have been attempted. I have, however, had a chance to wear several recently created items:

1. The PJ bottoms have been worn a lot in the frozen north. They have proven to be as comfy and snuggly as I hoped. They’ve even survived the washer and dryer!

2. I wore my plaid skirt on my birthday. I am sure I was the only woman in Bouley sporting me-made “couture!”

3. The puffy brown skirt also made it into the suitcase. I haven’t worn it yet but certainly will before heading home after the New Year.

While I wasn’t able to visit any of the fabric stores in NYC (maybe next time), I did look up fabric stores in DC. I have ample time to shop in the capital, but I’ve been disappointed. I can’t find a single fabric store in the city! Apparently, people here don’t sew. I guess I will have to satisfy my new hobby by reading about techniques and browsing online venues. I already have my eye on some vintage skirt patterns on eBay. I also plan on using my free time to scheme my next sewing projects. I’m learning planning is half the fun!

4 thoughts on “Snow on Boxing Day and a dearth of fabric stores in the capital

  1. I have been similarly frustrated by the lack of fabric stores in the DC area. At this point, the only real option is G Street Fabrics – I have gone to the one in Rockville, MD. They have nice apparel fabric options, but it’s nothing like NYC.

    • It really surprised me that there isn’t at least one. I feel badly for you all in this fabric-less area! If I end up here permanently, I’ll have to check out G Street Fabrics and depend on online venues. Kinda sad, isn’t it?

  2. It really is, especially because from what I’ve heard there were several excellent fabric store options a decade or two back. My entry into serious sewing coincided with my move to DC, and I was excited because I expected ot gain better fabric store options. Oh, the irony.

    • I guess it’s a good excuse to make a few trips a year to NYC?… I’ll probably be in the area permanently in the next year or two and it’s disappointing. I wonder why the stores didn’t make it. Maybe locals are too busy to sew?

Leave a Reply

