Home » Sewing » Organizing without a dedicated sewing space

Organizing without a dedicated sewing space

I’ve seen beautiful craftrooms online and in sewing magazines. They always have organized shelves full of fabric-covered boxes and woven baskets brimming with folded squares of colorful fabric.

I do not have a craftroom or even a craft space. This is making storage of my sewing supplies a challenge. After spending a few weeks moving piles of fabric, thread, ribbon, etc. from my kitchen table to the counter and back again, I went shopping for some organizing tools.

First, I purchased a basket to hold the majority of my sewing supplies (scissors, ribbon, pins, etc.).

20121218-091906.jpg

20121218-092003.jpg

20121218-093143.jpg

Then, I found a container for my thread. I only have a few spools now, but, as a I continue to sew, I expect my collection will grow.

20121218-093235.jpg

I also purchased a container for my embroidery threads. My mom taught me to embroider when I was little and I have a stack of cross stitch kits and books lurking in my closet. There are two problems with my cross stitch hobby: (1) I start lots of projects, but don’t finish many. (2) I don’t know what to do with the ones I do finish.

I’ve decided to focus on one project at a time. Here are my latest two finished pieces:

20121218-093834.jpg

20121218-093855.jpg

After the holidays, I plan on having one framed to fill an empty space on my dinning room wall. I’m still not sure which one to frame. Which do you all prefer?

So… I spent a few hours last night organizing my embroidery thread in my new storage case.

20121218-094043.jpg

20121218-094103.jpg

20121218-094125.jpg

That isn’t nearly all of it, but it’s a start.

With my new organizing tools filled, I’m ready to spend some time sewing this morning. It’ll be so nice to pick up and move my boxes when I’m done and not have to worry about cascading piles. Now, I just need to find a home for these organizing boxes!

If you have any organizing tips for me, I’d love to hear them. I’m still trying to figure out what to do with my small pile of fabric.

Leave a Reply

