Home » Refashion » ’80s night & inspiration for a T-shirt refashion

’80s night & inspiration for a T-shirt refashion

Dressed up for '80s night with the lab group.

Dressed up for ’80s night with the lab group.

Last night, the research lab I work with held its 2nd annual holiday get-together. We went with an ’80s theme and dressed up for a night on the town. I decided to use ’80s exercise gear as my inspiration. I paired black Loft leggings with legwarmers and a men’s T-shirt from Target to achieve my rad ’80s look. Unfortunately, my bangs refused to stay in a teased poof.

The lab ladies.

The lab ladies.

An evening of arcade games and bar food was exactly what we needed to battle end-of-semester blues.

Now that our fun evening is over, I’m trying to figure out what to do with the big white T-shirt.

My T-shirt fresh from the dryer and needing an ironing.

My T-shirt fresh from the dryer and needing an ironing.

I think it’s ripe for a refashion! I hit up Pinterest and found lots of inspiration.

I love the ruffles on this one from The Renegade Seamstress:

The pompoms on this T-shirt scarf created by The DIY Dish are super fun:

I also really like the lace on this scarf (from an Etsy-like website…):

Finally, the empire waist on this T-shirt make-over by Amie on Kitty Cats and Airplanes has potential:

Unfortunately, in order to achieve my ’80s look, I cut the neckline of my T-shirt. It’s uneven and hangs off of my shoulder which will present an additional challenge. I’ve never refashioned before, so here goes nothing!

2 thoughts on “’80s night & inspiration for a T-shirt refashion

Leave a Reply

