Home » Sewing » The horrors of pattern sizes (& dealing with my inner sorority girl)

The horrors of pattern sizes (& dealing with my inner sorority girl)

Last night I read a few pages of the Colette Sewing Handbook before going to bed. I started reading the section about pattern sizes.

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 11.21.28 PM

It was terrifying… According to the sizing chart in the book I’m a (gulp) size 8! GAH! I read and reread it. I measured myself several times. Unfortunately, the numbers in both the chart and on my measuring tape remained static and I remained horrified. I flung open my closet and peered at the size 2 labels sewn neatly in the hanging clothing for reassurance.

After a few deep breaths, I realized I’m a crazy person.

On several different sewing blogs, I have read not just how important it is to take honest measurements and be aware of the shape of your body, but also how difficult that honesty sometimes is. A few bloggers admitted to sometimes making things a bit too small in the hope that they’ll diet down to the size they created. When I read about this I thought it all sounded a bit silly. After measuring myself and comparing my measurements to the chart, I now completely understand how difficult it is to honestly know your body (and be okay with it). I could go on about how the influence of fashion magazines, celebrity culture, and the media in general concerning female body image. I could drone on about my own personal sorority girl experiences and the social pressures I feel to remain more-or-less thin; however, that really isn’t the point. The point is that I’m going to have to carefully read pattern size charts and take accurate measurements. If I don’t, I’m sure nothing I create will fit, making all my work a wasted effort. In short, I’m going to have to get over myself and get honest.

Eek. This sewing thing is tougher than I thought and I haven’t even attempted to actually sew from a pattern yet!

Leave a Reply

