Home » Sewing » Why I bought a sewing machine

Why I bought a sewing machine

This is the dress from Anthropology I bought at the end of the summer. Admittedly, it doesn’t look like much on the hanger, but its fit is very flattering. It’s snug and loose in all the right places. Unfortunately, I only took a picture after getting it home from the tailor’s. I’m petite and the dress wasn’t, so I shelled out $40 to have it hemmed. This is what I came home with:

IMG_0236

IMG_0237

Note the uneven hem. It looks even worse on me.

Check out the quality workmanship.

IMG_0240

I’m not a happy camper. I realized my brand new dress was nearly destroyed only after I got it home and tried it on in front of my bedroom mirror. I decided that this was never going to happen again. I was taking matters into my own hands.

I bought a sewing machine.

IMG_0086

Millie is not allowed on the table, but following my rules is not one of her strengths. Thanks goodness I think she’s adorable.

I started reading the instruction manual and googled “sewing.”  It can’t be that hard, right?

Since the dress is very much a summer piece, I figure I have all winter to figure out how to sew in order to fix the terribly botched circle hem. By May, I hope to be flouncing about in it with no one the wiser about its previous condition. As I have mentioned in the “About Triple B” page, I intend use this blog to chronicle my learning and hope that my mistakes will serve to educate others. There have been quite a few mistakes already…

Leave a Reply

