Home » Sewing » Some knitting and my first Zinnia

Some knitting and my first Zinnia

Eek! It’s been over a month since my last post! I’ve been busy getting into the groove of life in my new city. I’ve also been focusing on my dissertation.

I spend lots of time staring at my computer screen while drinking coffee.

Soy latte in Chinatown Coffee Company

Soy latte at the Chinatown Coffee Company. I’m in love with the milk foam heart.

As it gets colder in D.C. (it’s supposed to snow this weekend!), my knitting needles have been clicking away. I made a turquoise hat to wear in the cold at home and to a conference last month in Minnesota. Minn is freezing! My bones were cold… I found a sample of this hat at Looped Yarn Works in Dupont Circle. It was cute and looked easy. The pattern is called 201 Hat found on jessibean’s Ravelry page. It worked up very fast and is comfy to wear.

Freezing with fellow students in Minneapolis.

Freezing with fellow graduate students in Minneapolis.

Then, I made a cowl from some lovely textured yarn a former co-worker gifted to me. I think it was hand-dyed and I suspect it’s rather old. I used the freeĀ bulky mobius cowl pattern. I wasn’t able to pull off the mobius cast on this this yarn, but hope to give it a try soon.

Super warm cowl made from gifted yarn.

Super warm cowl made from gifted yarn.

In addition to knitting, I made a Zinnia!

When Colette Patterns came out with this versatile skirt, I knew I wanted to give it a go.

photo (1)

The fabric cost about $6 a yard on the sale table at Joann’s. It’s synthetic, but I like the colors and the print.

skirt fabric

skirt fabric

I used a non-static liner also purchased at Joann’s. It’s stiff and doesn’t drape well. I was worried about bulking up the hem, so I just did a zig-zag cut on the lining. I’m now in the market for nicer lining fabrics. If you have a good source, please share!

Lining and lazy hem

Lining and lazy hem

I am pretty proud of the button and my invisible zip isn’t too bad, either.

IMG_1640

Can’t even see the zip!

Here’s the finished product. I wore it with a chambray shirt and what my fiance refers to as my “cowgirl boots.” It is a bit western worn like this. For its next wearing, I think I’ll go with a simple brown or white top and brown heels.

photo 1

Selfie in my kitchen.

photo 5

Here it is from head-to-toe!

This was my first Colette pattern and I will be making others. The directions were very clear and the pattern only required one minor adjustment. I cut a 6 and ended up having to recut the waistband. I think I spaced out my pleats a bit too far apart which caused the waistband to be too short. Luckily, I had extra fabric, so cutting a bigger waistband was no big deal. I sprayed the fabric down with Sullivan’s Fabric Stabilizer which helped with the slippery factor. Overall, I’m pretty pleased with the result.

Now, the time is ticking for holiday sewing. I have two projects on the docket and limited time. Anyone else engaging in holiday sewing?

6 thoughts on “Some knitting and my first Zinnia

  1. Skirt looks lovely – I like the denim shirt/boots western combo! Im about to embark on attempting to sew a dress for xmas day.. first stop is fabric shopping. It will never happen in time but I thought I needed that extra stress on the lead up to the holidays! :/

Leave a Reply

