Home » Sewing » Ooo la la!

Ooo la la!

I love pretty lingerie. Maybe it’s my French heritage or my penchant for the girly- a bit of satin and some lace makes me a very happy lady.

So, when Vogue 8888 came out a few months ago, I had to give it a try. Although it’s labeled “easy,” I was a bit worried. It all looked complicated and impossibly delicate.
IMG_0645

I attempted view D. I recently picked up a ton of fabulous fabric on sale at JoAnn’s- 50% off red tag fabrics! One of my purchases was three yards of a printed satiny blend for $2.75 a yard. I decided to forgo lace and just let the print do the talking.

IMG_1245Eat your heart out, Victoria’s Secret! What would have cost me about $50 was less than $6 worth of fabric.

I will not be modeling this one because it is cut low. It looks great (I think my boyfriend will love it), but I don’t want my cleavage splashed all over the internet…

The “easy” label was legitimate. I was most worried about the fit of the bodice, but the pattern fit perfectly without any adjustments (I’m a solid B-cup).

IMG_1246

I used French seams throughout, so the inside is pretty, too. Overall, it was a fast make. I started it Sunday after lunch and was able to wear it to bed Sunday night. How great is that?!

I will be making up this pattern again. I’m debating sewing up a version in jersey for a different look. I also think I’ll give the other views a try. Maybe I’ll even incorporate some lace next time.

Au revoir! Bonne nuit!

11 thoughts on “Ooo la la!

  1. Oh My!!! Va Va and Vooom! This is gorgeous! The fabric is beautiful and it looks absolutely professionally sewn! I would totally buy this over most stuff I’ve seen at Victoria’s Secret. Now, I want to get this pattern as I’ve also been a bit frightened of lingerie but your review of this pattern makes it sound very easy.

  2. I recently picked up the Burda lingerie pattern to make some pretties… But I LOVE this Vogue pattern and will need to add it to my collection when they next go on sale. Yours is so pretty! And the fabric – what a deal! ~Laurie

Leave a Reply

